May 16, 2021
From Global May Day
279 views


May 16, 2021

May 30th (Sunday)

Recently the syndicates Free Workers’ Union (FAU) Hamburg and Industrial Workers of the World (IWW) as well as the activist group in/progress Braunschweig initiated te Global Garment Workers’ Solidarity Network (GGW SoliNet).

We, the working group Global Garment Workers’ Solidarity Network (GGW SoliNet), are an alliance of (grassroot) labor unions, initiatives and politically interested individuals, wanting to support labor struggles in the textile industry. [
]
The excessive consumption of clothing can only take place to this extend because workers in the textile industry are exploited. Wage gaps and precarious working conditions only too clearly show the system of class society beyond national borders. Our goal must therefore be to critically question the modes of production with a global and anti-capitalist orientation and, in turn, to actively fight them on the ground together.

GGW SoliNet self-conception

We, as initiators of the GGW SoliNet, invite to a first online meeting to introduce this newly formed network and kick-off the networking process creating a broader basis for the GGW SoliNet.
For this meeting an online video conferencing tool will be used. Details below.

Self-organized. Anti-capitalist. In solidarity with struggling textile workers worldwide. GGW SoliNet!

Suggested Agenda:

  • TOP1: Round of introduction
  • TOP2: Introducing GGW SoliNet
  • TOP3: Clarifying questions
  • TOP4: Open exchange of ideas
  • TOP5: Next steps

How to join the meeting

May 30th (Sunday) — noon EST, 4pm UTC, 6pm CET, 9:30pm IST
!! this time converter can help you find out what time 4pm UTC will be at your location !!

Virtual room: bbb001hz.makeutopia.de

Please enter your name (preferably incl. your location) when entering the room.
You can access the room on your computer, tablet or smartphone. You should accept access to your microphone. Activating your webcam is optional.




Source: Globalmayday.net